why we shibori

“Perhaps it is the lack of control one has in using the shibori technique that creates its allure. It is a meticulous process, and yet, there is an element of surprise as there is no way to predict the outcome once the cloth has been dipped into the vat of indigo.”

I came across this quote in the article, ‘Shibori: A brief history‘ on the Madesmith Blog. For sometime now, I’ve been asking myself what is it that draws me so much to Shibori? Yes, I love the aesthetic, the craftsmanship, the imperfection, but most of all, it teaches me to embrace the inevitable surprises that come along my way. Much like life itself.

xoa

Shibori: A brief history, from the Madesmith blog

Leave a Reply

